Het laatste nieuws
Het laatste nieuws

Seeding for European Junior Team Championships announced

The winners of the 2011 European U17 Team Championships and the bronze medal winners of the 2011 European Junior Team Championships from Denmark has been confirmed as top seeded for the 2013 European Junior Team Championships in Ankara, Turkey (starting 22 March 2013) by Badminton Europe.

In accordance with § 7.3, the seeding shall be made based on an overall assessment of results of the last played European U17 Team Championships, the last played European Junior Team Championships and the European Junior Ranking.

7 of the 30 entered teams are seeded for the event and will therefore be placed in seven different groups. The rising badminton country Russia took the second seeding position as their best juniors showed great results during the season and after having secured medals at both youth events in 2011. England and title holders Germany are seeded to reach the semi-finals. They join France, Netherlands and home nation Turkey among the seven leading teams when the draw takes place next Tuesday in Copenhagen.

Seeding for the 2013 European Junior Team Championships:

  • 1. Denmark
  • 2. Russia
  • 3/4. England
  • 3/4 Germany
  • 5/7. France
  • 5/7. Netherlands
  • 5/7. Turkey

The seeding has been done and confirmed by the Badminton Europe by assessing the results (not only rankings) from the last played European Junior Team Championships in Vantaa, Finland and the last played European U17 Team Championships in Caldas da Rainha, Portugal. Furthermore the European Junior Ranking has been taken into consideration.

The 7 teams mentioned above will be placed in the Groups 1-7 before the draw is carried out. The remaining 23 teams will then be drawn into the 7 groups on a random basis.

Two groups will contain 5 teams. The rest will contain 4 teams.

The winners of the 7 groups will progress to the knock out stage. The winners of Group 1 will be drawn into the top of the knock out draw. The best runner-up from the group stages will qualify for the quarter-finals together with seven group winners.

The draw will be carried out on Badminton Europe’s office, Tuesday 29 January 2013 at 14.00 CET and will be announced (as “tbc by referee”) on shortly after.

geplaatst door

verkregen via Badminton Europe

Wat vind jij? Er zijn al 35 waarderingen!

Schrijf je in voor de nieuwsbrief!

Je ontvangt enkele keren per jaar een speciale update!



› lees onze huisregels

Meer nieuws